Last Chance to Join the L’s Nobel Prize for Literature Pool, Everyone

by |
10/08/2008 11:51 AM |

Because my life is elsewhere, and I feel more of an affinity for the ups and downs of ambiguous, shadowy controversial Swedish literary prizes than for my friends or family or coworkers, I’m going to continue to talk about this. The Nobel Prize in Literature will be awarded tomorrow at 11am GMT, which is like 6am, so if you have not already done so you should claim an author in The L’s Nobel Prize in Literature Pool (just do it in the comments, one only please). Taken: Amos Oz, Ian McEwan, Keith Gessen (not really), Les Murray, Inger Christensen, Claudio Magris, “Javier Marias of Victor Pelevin” (you’re technically only allowed one but I don’t know this person so whatever), Don DeLillo, Alice Munro, Haruki Murakami, Phil Roth, Milan Kundera. Not taken: Llosa, Fuentes, Achebe (hmm), Eco (hmm), and those guys who’re up near the top of the odds despite not being people you’ve heard of, like Adonis and Tomas Tranströmer and Yves Bonnefoy and Antonio Tabucchi. Unclaimed writers in English include Tommy Pynchon, Cormac McCarthy, Joyce Carol Oates, Marilynn Robinson (hmm), J.D. Salinger (seriously?), Mark Asch for his work with The L Magazine and a couple of short pieces he wrote in an undergraduate creative writing worship, and so on and so on.

Get ’em while they’re hot.

One Comment