Wicked Artsy Happenings

by |
03/19/2009 4:17 PM |

Gallery openings and receptions, et cetera, compiled by Benjamin Sutton

March 19

Chelsea
Dirk Westphal: Super Ãœber at Mixed Greens (mixedgreens.com), 531 W 26th St, 3rd Fl (between Tenth and Eleventh Aves), 6-8pm
Charles Mingus III: Human Condition at 532 Gallery Thomas Jaeckel (532gallery.com), 532 W 25th St, 2nd Fl (between Tenth and Eleventh Aves), 6-8pm
Ryong-Ki Kim, Dong-Jin Park at ArtGate Gallery (artgateny.com), 547 W 27th St, #301 (between Tenth and Eleventh Aves), 6-8pm
Matthew Sleeth: Various Positions (parts 1 through 6) (pictured, right) at Claire Oliver (claireoliver.com), 513 W 26th St (between Tenth and Eleventh Aves), 6-8pm
Matthias Meyer: The ornament of beauty is suspect at Danese (danese.com), 535 W 24th St, 6th Fl (between Tenth and Eleventh Aves), 6-8pm
Taewon Jang: Collusion at Gana Art (ganaart.com), 568 W 25th St (between Tenth and Eleventh Aves), 6-8pm
Jane Alexander, Gordon Cheung at Jack Shainman Gallery (jackshainman.com),513 W 20th St (between Tenth and Eleventh Aves), 6-8pm

March 20

Chelsea

Thomas Trosch: Spring in Park Lane at Fredericks & Freiser (fredericksfreisergallery.com), 536 W 24th St (between Tenth and Eleventh Aves), 12pm-8pm
David Musgrave at Luhring Augustine (luhringaugustine.com), 531 W 24th St (between Tenth and Eleventh Aves), 6-8pm

Williamsburg
Mira Schor at Momenta Art (momentaart.org), 359 Bedford Ave (between S 4th and S 5th Sts), 7-9pm
Virtual Insanity at Cinders Gallery (cindersgallery.com), 101 Havemeyer St (between Hope and Grand Sts), 7-10pm
Robert Ladislas Derr: Structures and Strictures at Jack the Pelican (jackthepelicanpresents.com), 487 Driggs Ave (between N 9th and N 10th Sts), 7-9pm
Yunmee Kyong: Oumana Seo (how is the family?) (pictured, left) at AG Gallery (aboutglamour.net), 103 N 3rd St (between Berry and Wythe Aves), 7-10pm

Queens
Sol Aramendi at Local Project Art Gallery (localproject.org), 45-10 Davis St (at Jackson Ave), 6-9pm

March 21

Chelsea
Anne Neely: Where There’s Water at Lohin Geduld (http://www.artnet.com/lohingeduld.html), 531 W 25th St (between Tenth and Eleventh Aves), 5-7pm
482 Broome Street at Dinter Fine Art (dinterfineart.com), 547 W 27th St, 3rd Fl (between Tenth and Eleventh Aves), 11am-1pm
Christopher Green: Qualia at Noho Gallery (nohogallery.com), 530 W 25th St, 4th Fl (between Tenth and Eleventh Aves), 4-7pm

Lower East Side/East Village
Michael Leavitt at Fuse Gallery (fusegallerynyc.com), 93 Second Ave (between 5th and 6th Sts), 7-10pm
Michelle Lopez: The Violence That Bears it Away (pictured, right) at Simon Preston Gallery (simonprestongallery.com), 301 Broome St (between Forsyth and Eldridge), 6-8pm

Soho
Mark Jenkins at Stricola Contemporary (stricola.com), 3 Wooster St (at Canal St), 6-9pm

Park Slope
Jeremy Slater and Tamara Yadao at Open Source (open-source-gallery.org), 255 17th St (at 5th Ave), 7-10pm

Dumbo
John Elder at Henry Gregg (henrygregggallery.com), 111 Front St, Suite 226 (between Washington and Adams Sts), 3-6pm

Greenpoint
Pieced Together at Alphabeta Gallery (alphabetanyc.com), 70 Greenpoint Ave (between Franklin and West Sts), 7pm-12am (with DJ)

March 22

Williamsburg
Arthur May at Art 101 (art101brooklyn.com), 101 Grand St (between Wythe Ave and Berry Sts), 4-7pm