Man Booker Prize Nominees Announced

07/28/2009 12:45 PM |

47e5/1248797107-bookerjudges.jpgToday, the jury behind the coveted British literary award the Man Booker Prize (glimpsed holding a secretive panel discussion at right) announced the longlist of 13 nominees for this year, with repeat noms J.M. Coetzee (for “Summertime”), A.S. Byatt (“The Children’s Book”), William Trevor (“Love and Summer”), Colm Toibin (“Brooklyn”) and Sarah Waters (“The Little Stranger”) at the front of the pack.

The rest of the nominees, all first-timers, are Adam Foulds (“The Quickening Maze”); Sarah Hall (“How to Paint a Dead Man”); Samantha Harvey (“The Wilderness”); James Lever (“Me Cheeta”); Hilary Mantel (“Wolf Hall”); Simon Mawer (“The Glass Room”); Ed O’Loughlin (“Not Untrue & Not Unkind”) and James Scudamore (“Heliopolis”). Last year’s big winner, you may recall, was Aravind Adiga who got the $82,500 for his novel The White Tiger. The winner will be announced on October 6, but in the meantime, let the Booker betting pools begin!