John Legend and The Roots Reveal Tracklist for Upcoming Soul Cover Album

07/12/2010 11:36 AM |

The Roots and John Legend

John Legend and The Roots, who most recently collaborated on the hot track “The Fire” from the Philly group’s latest, are already hard at work on Wake Up!, an album of 60s and 70s soul, funk and reggae covers, from Marvin Gaye classics to obscure Mike James Kirkland tracks. The record drops September 21, but the tracklist just leaked, and judging by their selections and the first few tracks we’ve heard, this is very promising.

Click titles for originals/earlier versions.

1. Compared to What
2. Hard Times
3. Little Ghetto Boy
4. Wake Up Everybody feat. Common and Melanie Fiona
5. Our Generation
6. Love the Way It Should Be
7. Hang On in There
8. I Can’t Write Left Handed
9. Wholy Holy
10. I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free
11. Shine