Early Details on Rob Pruitt’s Second Annual Art Awards: Lifetime Achievements and a Prize for Art Bloggers?

09/17/2010 11:49 AM |

Marilyn Minter 2010 Annual Art Awards

Some details have been released regarding the second edition of artist Rob Pruitt‘s Annual Art Awards, which last year took place at the Guggenheim and will be handed out at Webster Hall this time on December 8. ArtNet reports that the selection committee of Pruitt, Guggenheim curator Nancy Spector and White Columns director Matthew Higgs are working though a list of over 1,000 artists and art world figures for potential nominees, and have decided to bestow lifetime achievement awards upon the original experimental filmmaker Jonas Mekas and subversive collagist Martha Rosler. A special Artist-Educator Achievement Award will also go to Marilyn Minter (work pictured), and our own Paddy Johnson announced on Twitter that a new “Best Blogger” category might be added this year. If so, our pick to win it should be fairly obvious.