Marina Abramovic, Louise Bourgeois and The L’s Paddy Johnson Among 2010 Art Awards Nominees!

11/17/2010 9:36 AM |

2010 Art Awards hosts Rob Pruitt and Glenn OBrien

Yesterday the Guggenheim announced the nominees who will be vying for champagne bucket lamps on December 8 when artist Rob Pruitt and writer Glenn O’Brien (pictured) hand out the second annual Art Awards at Webster Hall. As rumored, the category “Blogger or Critic of the Year” has replaced “Writer of the Year,” and our own Paddy Johnson is among the four writers nominated! She faces stiff competition from Linda Yablonsky, Howard Halle and especially Jerry Saltz, whose visibility as a judge on Work of Art is hard to match. Go Paddy! Two other new categories this year, Alternative Project of the Year and Alternative Space of the Year, mark a welcome departure from the dominance of commercial galleries and major museums. Full list of noms after the jump.

Alternative Space of the Year
179 Canal, New York
Artists Space, New York
Cleopatra’s, Brooklyn, New York
Light Industry, Brooklyn, New York

Alternative Project of the Year
Apartment Show, various locations, New York
edia Int’l Group, Foundation Barbin, New York
Jennifer Rubell, Creation, Performa 09, New York

Artist of the Year
Marina Abramovic
John Baldessari
Louise Bourgeois
Trisha Donnelly

Blogger or Critic of the Year
Howard Halle
Paddy Johnson
Jerry Saltz
Linda Yablonsky

Curator of the Year
Massimiliano Gioni
Laura Hoptman
Chrissie Iles
Neville Wakefield

Exhibition outside the United States
John Baldessari: Pure Beauty, Tate Modern, London
Rosemarie Trockel: Deliquescence of the Mother, Kunsthalle Zürich
Felix Gonzalez-Torres: Specific Objects without Specific Form, Wiels Contemporary Art Centre, Brussels
Matthew Barney: Prayer Sheet with the Wound and the Nail, Schaulager, Basel

Group Show of the Year, Gallery
Lush Life, various locations, New York
Picture Industry (Goodbye to All That), Regen Projects, Los Angeles
Primary Atmospheres: Works from California 1960—1970, David Zwirner, New York
Your History Is Not Our History: New York in the 1980s, Haunch of Venison, New York

Group Show of the Year, Museum
At Home/Not At Home: Works from the Collection of Martin and Rebecca Eisenberg, Hessel Museum of Art, Bard College, Annandale-on-Hudson, New York
Greater New York, P.S.1 Contemporary Art Center, Long Island City, New York
In & Out of Amsterdam: Travels in Conceptual Art, 1960—1976, Museum of Modern Art, New York
2010 Whitney Biennial Exhibition, Whitney Museum of American Art, New York

New Artist of the Year
Michele Abeles
Tauba Auerbach
Liz Magic Laser
Ryan McNamara

The Rob Pruitt Award
To be announced the evening of December 8, 2010

Solo Show of the Year, Gallery
Claude Monet: Late Work, Gagosian Gallery, New York
Gelitin: Blind Sculpture, Greene Naftali Gallery, New York
Jonathan Horowitz: Go Vegan! Gavin Brown’s Enterprise, New York
Trisha Donnelly, Casey Kaplan Gallery, New York

Solo Show of the Year, Museum
Marina Abramovic: The Artist Is Present, Museum of Modern Art, New York
Heat Waves in a Swamp: The Paintings of Charles Burchfield, Hammer Museum, Los Angeles, and Whitney Museum of American Art, New York
Otto Dix, Neue Galerie, New York
Yves Klein: With the Void, Full Powers, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C., and Walker Art Center, Minneapolis

Predictions coming soon.

(image courtesy the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum)