Panda Bear Tracklist Announced on… an MGMT Message Board?

01/21/2011 10:45 AM |


A little before 10pm last night, Pitchfork posted a news item revealing the tracklist for Panda Bear’s forthcoming album, Tomboy, along with some very strange and very confusing details about how the information got out there. It seems producer (and former Spacemen 3 member) Sonic Boom, who mixed portions of the album, spilled the beans on, of all places, an MGMT message board. The connection, I guess (not that it really explains what the hell he’s doing posting shit on a message board in the first place), is that Sonic Boom also worked on MGMT’s last album, Congratulations.

An official press release came from Panda Bear’s camp this morning, confirming that the tracklist is indeed correct. As we noted last week, the album is now set for release on April 19th, and it will feature 11 songs, eight of which will have been released on a series of 7″ singles, with the final one coming soon on the Kompakt label. All eleven tracks have received additional musical touches and been remixed by Sonic Boom. One assumes this will be sort of a big deal, especially in the weird little corner of our office where Ms. Beck sits.

Track list:
1. You Can Count on Me
2. Tomboy
3. Slow Motion
4. Surfer’s Hymn
5. Last Night at The Jetty
6. Drone
7. Alsatian Darn
8. Sheherezade
9. Friendship Bracelet
10. Afterburner
11. Benfica