Best Music Writing Series to be Published Independently Starting in 2012

12/07/2011 8:57 AM |


Starting in 2012, the long-running Best Music Writing series will be published independently. At a reading for this year’s edition last night at Powerhouse Areana in DUMBO, series editor Daphne Carr made the announcement that Da Capo Press, who’ve been publishing the book since 2000, will no longer be involved.

Looking toward the future, Carr is leading a fundraising campaign to relaunch the series with a few changes. “There will be an editorial board of ten music writing peers who will solicit materials, read, nominate, and argue for or against pieces,” she writes in a note on her website. “This will be be The Best Music Writing of 2012.” Carr also notes that Best Music Writing 2012 will be the flagship title for a new “music writing-focused press.”

During her speech at Powerhouse, Carr also mentioned that the focus of next year’s book would change slightly, vowing to incorporate different types of writing, in a wider range of formats—a thoughtful acknowledgment that the longer form writing the book has traditionally favored is just not something a lot of writers are afforded the opportunity to do anymore.

The goal of the fundraising campaign is to raise $30,000, which will cover production costs, a fee for the included writers, a stipend for the editorial board, and other various costs. Donations can be made though WePay. $15 will get you a copy of next year’s book, with things like t-shirts and tote bags available for larger amounts.

Last night’s reading featured this year’s guest editor Alex Ross, with readings by Nitsuh Abebe, Kalefeh Saneh, Sasha Frere-Jones, Vanessa Grigoriadus, Franklin Bruno and Lauren Wilcox Puchowski among others. Previous editions of the book have been edited by people like Ann Powers, Greil Marcus, Robert Christgau and even Jonathan Lethem.